Pinkbike Primer: After 3 years, the DH World Cup returns to Mont-Sainte-Anne

We’re in the penultimate round of 2022 and a multi-series title will likely be decided this weekend. Round seven sees the legendary Mont-Sainte-Anne return after a three-year hiatus. Check out all the info you need to know before the race kicks off later this week.


We have no idea what to expect for Mont-Sainte-Anne’s return this year. It could be the same path as always or there could be some sneaky surprises.

Previous winners

Elite men

1996: Thomas Messier
1997: Corrado Herring
1998 // World Champions: Fabian Barel
1999: Steve Pete
2000: Fabian Barel
2001: Chris Kovarik
2002: Steve Pete
2003: Steve Pete
2004: Steve Pete
2005: Fabian Barel
2006: Chris Kovarik
2007: Sam Hill
2008: Greg Minar
2009: Sam Hill
2010 // World Champions: Sam Hill
2011: Aaron Gwen
2012: Aaron Gwen
2013: Stevie Smith
2014: Sam Hill
2015: Josh Priceland
2016: Danny Hart
2017: Aaron Gwen
2018: Loic Bruni
2019 // World Champions: Loic Bruni

Elite women

1996: Lee Donovan
1997: Messi Geoff
1998 // World Champions: Anne Caroline Chosun
1999: Anne Caroline Chosun
2000: Messi Geoff
2001: Sabrina Junior
2002: Anne Caroline Chosun
2003: Fionn Griffith
2004: Sabrina Junior
2005: Tracy Mosley
2006: Sabrina Junior
2007: Sabrina Junior
2008: Rachel Atherton
2009: Sabrina Junior
2010 // World Champions: Tracy Mosley
2011: Tracy Mosley
2012: Rachel Atherton
2013: Emeline Ragot
2014: Manon Carpenter
2015: Rachel Atherton
2016: Rachel Atherton
2017: Tahneé Seagrave
2018: Rachel Atherton
2019 // World Champions: Myriam Nicole

What happened in 2019?

Elite men

the first. Loic Bruni: 4: 05.544
Second. Troy Brosnan: +0.581.07.00
Third. Amaury Byron: +2.549
Fourth. Danny Hart: +2.805
Fifth. Greg Minar: +3.187

Elite women

the first. Myriam Nicole: 4: 53.226
Second. Congratulations Segrave: +1.204
Third. Marine Cabero: +1.694
Fourth. Tracy Hanna: +4.121
Fifth. Emily Seigenthaler: +5.391

little men

the first. Ki Ahern: 4: 17.776
Second. Antoine Vidal: +1.144
Third. Tohuto-Ariki Penny: +1.294
Fourth. Lucas Cruz: +1.304
Fifth. Tibot Dabriela: +1.889

young women

the first. Valley Hall: 5:01.033
Second. Mel Joneset: +12.928
Third. Anna Newkirk: +21.230
Fourth. Nastasya Jimenez: +38,316
Fifth. Jordan Scott: +46,863

What happened in the last round?

For the juniors, Gracey Hemstreet has mastered challenging conditions to take the top spot in just over three seconds. Pinkbike Racing’s Amy Kenyon made an impressive run to cross the line in second, and current world champion Isabella Jankova finished third. For the rookies, Jackson Goldstone was once again on top of the podium finding more than five seconds on the Cruz crowns. Sebastian Holguin Villa completed the top three, nine seconds off the lead. Pinkbike Racing’s Jackson Connelly crossed the line in 22nd place.

Camille Balanche boosted her best qualifying rounds with a win in the Snowshoe as she was able to go all week without an accident. Camille’s unbridled run made four seconds over Miriam Nicole who made a fatal error in the third split. Nina Hoffman finished the top three by six seconds.

What a race for the elite guys, the track was dry but not easy for the end riders. After not even thinking that he would be racing this week, Amaury Pierron once again proved why he is the winning rider this year by winning his first World Cup away from Bernard Kerr. The fastest mountain biking vlogger had the best results in 15 years of racing with second place and only 0.4 seconds back. Andreas Kolb is another rider to be present this year and is third on the podium.

Elite women

the first. Camille Balanche: 4: 28.585
Second. Myriam Nicole: 4: 32.730
Third. Nina Hoffman: 4: 34.692
Fourth. Valley Hall: 4: 44.489
Fifth. Monica Hrastnik: 4: 45.362

Elite men

the first. Amauri Byron: 3:34,442
Second. Bernard Kerr: 3:34.856
Third. Andreas Kolb: 3:36.250
Fourth. Ronan Dunn: 3:37.013
Fifth. Greg Minnaar: 3:37.962

young women

the first. Gracey Humstreet: 5:24
Second. Amy Kenyon: 5: 27.324
Third. Isabella Yankova: 5: 30.714
Fourth. Jenna Hastings: 5:38.788
Fifth. Valentina Roa Sanchez: 5: 39.740

little men

the first. Jackson Goldstone: 3:50.127
Second. Crown Cruise: 3: 55.452
Third. Villa Sebastian Holguin: 3:59.173
Fourth. Lachlan Stevens McNabb: 4: 02.580
Fifth. Ryan Pinkerton: 4: 04.032

Overall standings after the sixth round

Elite women

Elite men

young women

little men

weather forecast

While the racing week starts off with a little rain, it looks like we’re in for a great week of sunny racing in Mont-Sainte-Anne.

Thursday August 4 – exercise
Morning showers otherwise, cloudy and humid // 25 degrees // 100% chance of rain // 7 km/h winds

Friday August 5 – habilitation
Mostly cloudy and comfortable // 23 degrees // 0% chance of rain // 7 km/h wind

Saturday August 6 – Finals
Periods of clouds and sun // 25 degrees // 29% chance of rain // 4 km/h winds

Weather forecast as of Monday, August 1 from Accueather.


Thursday August 4
• 08:45-11:15 // Formal Slope Training – Group B
• 11:15-12:30 // Formal slope training – Group A and B (mixed training)
• 12:45-15:15 // Formal slope training – Group A
• 15:30-17:00 // Regression timed training session
• 17:00-17:45 // Downhill Cycle Check – Riders and Teams

Friday August 5
• 08:45-10:15 // Formal Slope Training – Group B
• 10:15-11:45 // Formal slope training – Group A
• 12:15 // run the seed – young women
• 12:30 // Qualifying Round – Men
• 13:30 // Qualifying Round – Elite Women
• 14:00 // Qualifying Round – Elite Men
• Followed by // 30 min walk to check out the Downhill Course – Riders and Teams

Saturday August 6
• 08:15-09:15 // Formal slope training – juniors, junior men, elite women
• 09:45 // Final – Men’s Junior
• 10:30 // Final – Junior Girls
• 10:50-11:05 // Formal downhill training – Elite women qualify for final
• 11:05-12:05 // Formal downhill training – Elite men qualify for the final
• 12:30 // Final – Elite Women
• 13:30 // Final – Elite Men
• Prizes to follow

Note: All times are local and subject to change by the event organizer.

how to watch

Pinkbike will bring you the best daily coverage from Mont-Sainte-Anne this week. Join Pinkbike to capture epic photos, videos, and results from timed training, practice, qualifying, and finals, plus art pieces and news.

You can also watch the Mercedes-Benz UCI Mountain Bike World Cup on DH’s live stream goes live on Saturday, August 6 at 12:25 PM EST.

Timetable: Mercedes-Benz UCI Yugang Mountain Bike World Cup on Red Bull TV:

Mont-Sainte-Anne DHI Women: July 30th Live on Red Bull TV 12:25 EDT
Mont-Sainte-Anne DHI Men: July 30th Live on Red Bull TV 13:45 EDT

(At all times EST, replays are available immediately after the races are over. Times are subject to change at the discretion of organizers and Red Bull).

2022 fantasy league

Don’t forget to complete your DH Fantasy Team for Round 7 this weekend, because the fantasy league will be even more fun if you participate in every race.

Fantasy Downhill League is presented by Specialized

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: