Where is the next World Cup? Exploring the host countries after Qatar 2022

Photo by FABRICE COFFRINI/AFP via Getty Images

Qatar will host the FIFA World Cup from November 21 to December 18, 2022 before the United States, Mexico and Canada host the next tournament in 2026.

FIFA awarded the honor of hosting Qatar in 2010 against competition from the USA, Australia, Japan and South Korea. This year’s edition will also be the first tournament to be held in the Middle East, and will also be the first to be held outside of the European summer.

Temperatures in Qatar range from 40°C to 50°C during the European summer, making it impossible to set a normal World Cup schedule. Humidity can also reach between 40 and 60% during the night, temperatures can remain around 29°C. Precipitation is also rare in summer.

Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

Why is the Qatar World Cup 2022 held in the winter?

With the dry season running from June to October in Qatar, FIFA has chosen to move the 2022 World Cup to the winter schedule for the first time. The average temperature in the capital, Doha, in November ranges from 21 to 30 degrees, while it drops to around 16 to 25 degrees in December.

Qatar has also moved to help combat the conditions by installing air conditioners in the stadiums that will be used. Large vents surround the walkways, while grills pump cool air around the terraces. The cooled air will also be drawn in, re-cooled, filtered and pushed out again.

Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

What is the date of the start of the next FIFA World Cup in Qatar?

With the decision to move the World Cup from its traditional summer venue at the end of the season, the Qatar Championship will start on November 21 and run until December 18, 2022. But the opening match will not feature the host nation, who will face Ecuador in the third match.

Instead, Senegal and the Netherlands will open the tournament before England face Iran. USA and Wales will also end the event on opening day, with four matches taking place during each day of the group stage, which runs until December 2, before the round of 16.

The quarter-final matches will begin on December 9 and run until the semi-finals on December 13. The 7th, 8th, 11th, 12th, 15th and 16th of December are also designated as rest days, with the match for third place starting. December 17 before the final on December 18 – held at Lusail Stadium.

Photo by Ben Moreau/FIFA via Getty Images

What is the date of the next FIFA World Cup after Qatar?

After the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, the next tournament will return to its traditional summer venue in 2026. The USA, Mexico and Canada won the co-hosting rights for the edition again in 2018, and will welcome an expanded tournament featuring 48 teams from the United States. current 32.

The FIFA Congress was elected in the joint bid by 134 votes, 65 votes ahead of Morocco. It was confirmed earlier in 2022, via ESPN, that 11 major cities in the USA, three in Mexico and two in Canada will host the next FIFA World Cup matches after Qatar 2026.

These cities will be Atlanta, Boston, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Miami, New York/New Jersey, Philadelphia, San Francisco/Bay Area, Seattle from America, Toronto and Vancouver from Canada, as well as Mexico City, Monterrey and Guadalajara from Mexico.

In addition to being the first of an expanded FIFA World Cup with 48 teams, the 2026 edition will also be the first to be co-hosted by multiple nations since Japan and South Korea in 2002. It is also the first tournament to be hosted by three nations, first Canada and the United States second. the United States and the third for Mexico.

No country had previously hosted or co-hosted three World Cups before Mexico took the honors at the next tournament after Qatar. Italy (1934, ’90), France (’38, ’98), Brazil (1950, 2014), Mexico (’70, ’86) and Germany (’74, 2006) have hosted multiple editions previously.

FIFA has yet to decide which country will host the 2030 World Cup, but it will not be a joint bid by England and Ireland. The FA of home countries dropped the bid in 2022, via Sky, in favor of focusing on the 2028 European Championship. Turkey has also submitted a bid to host the European Championship.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: