Pinar: Hosting the Rugby Sevens World Cup is a very important occasion for SA

Springbok World Cup-winning captain Francois Pienaar

  • Friday is exactly 27 years since the day the Springboks won the Rugby World Cup in 1995.
  • The country will once again host a global event later this year when the Rugby Sevens World Cup takes place in Cape Town.
  • 1995, Phuket Bok captain, François Pienaar, said it would be “a momentous occasion”.

Friday (24 June) marks 27 years since that Francois Pienaar He led the Springboks to glory in the Rugby World Cup by defeating the All Blacks 15-12 in the final at Ellis Park.

In 77 days, South Africa will host the second edition of the World Rugby Championship when the Rugby World Cup Sevens kicks off in Cape Town.

From September 9-11, the top 40 men’s and women’s Rugby Sevens teams will take part in the Cape Town Stadium.

New Zealand will defend the men’s and women’s titles they won in San Francisco in 2018, and they will be joined by the Blitzboks and Springbok Women’s Sevens, as well as another 22 men’s and 14 women’s teams.

Pinar, who is currently based in Cape Town, said in a statement that he is excited for South Africa to host the World Cup once again.

“It’s the first Rugby World Cup we’ve hosted since 1995 and I can’t wait to support the Blitzboks and Springbok Women’s Sevens in Cape Town in September,” Pinar said.

“The Rugby Sevens World Cup will be a momentous occasion when the eyes of the rugby world turn to South Africa.

“I would like to wish all the teams – especially our green and gold team – all the best for the tournament, when we once again show the world what a wonderful country we live in, and what can be achieved when we stand together as South Africans.”

The top eight men’s teams and the top four women’s teams from RWC Sevens 2018 in San Francisco, USA, have already secured automatic qualification for the tournament in 2022, along with Springbok Women’s Sevens, as the host.

The qualifying teams for the men’s tournament are defending champions New Zealand, England, South Africa, Fiji, Argentina, USA, France and Scotland. Among the women’s teams, South Africa will be joined by defending champions New Zealand, France, Australia and the USA in Cape Town.

Aside from the pre-qualified teams, other African teams that qualified include Madagascar (women), Uganda, Zimbabwe and Kenya (men), Canadian men’s and women’s teams, as well as men’s teams from Australia, Samoa, Tonga and Jamaica. Hong Kong, South Korea, Uruguay, Chile and women’s teams from Fiji, Japan, China, Brazil and Colombia.

Ticket information:

Opening Day tickets (Friday, September 9) – as well as very limited tickets for the other two days – are still available from Ticketmaster, while information on suites and hospitality packages is available via email at [email protected]

Hospitality packages start at R3 795 for a one-day experience and include full-day catering, private bars, exclusive viewing suites, hostess service and gifts.

Details of flights and travel packages can be found through SA Rugby Travel by click hereor visit

Supporters wishing to receive updated information directly to their inbox can sign up for the Rugby World Cup Sevens newsletter at

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: