MLB could have crushed the souls of the Dodgers if Tyler Anderson had finished not hitting

Tyler Anderson has been an inspiration to the Los Angeles Dodgers this season. Anderson has gone up in the starting rotation and is another example of a cheap hidden gem found by Andrew Friedman and the front desk.

The left-hander has an 8-0 record with a 2.82 ERA in 67 innings. He currently has a career-highest ERA+ at 149 and ranks sixth in all Major League Baseball with a 5.73 SO/BB ratio. His unsuccessful performances in the sixth inning or beyond in 10 starts this season have certainly helped the cause.

Most recently, he threw an 8.1 inning of non-hit baseball before Shohei Ohtani ripped history away from Anderson with a three in the ninth inning.

It’s probably a good thing Ohtani spoiled the fun that night, because MLB retroactively ended Anderson’s unsuccessful two-division show in the seventh inning. Wait what? What are we talking about?

Anderson made an initially poor throw on a collector in front of the hill, allowing Jared Walsh to get through safely and then make it to second base. The play was originally judged a foul, but just under a week later, it was changed to a major hit.

Dodgers fans would have every right to be angry if MLB disqualified Tyler Anderson’s no-hitter

There’s no way the MLB would have actually made that change if Anderson had completed the no-batting, right? Changing the date retroactively and throwing away a feat like this would be the biggest blunder in a game like this since Jim Joyce blasted the perfect Armando Galarraga in the olden days before replaying the video.

To be fair to the MLB, though, if there was any play in which the bowler intentionally scored a foul to keep the batsman not alive, this could be the play. It was undoubtedly a difficult game and not in the category of routine… but it was still fishy.

Anderson not only hit the baseball, he threw it a few yards to the right of first base. He also immediately turned to home plate referee Dan Bellino and seemed to say something. Was he on the spot pleading his case to be wrong… even though the referee isn’t the one holding the score?

That’s something only Anderson and Bellino know, but it’s clear that MLB thought there might have been some ulterior motives behind that bad throw.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: